It’s all about the bands:

Yep, it was homecoming in Columbia yesterday.  I took my happy little body to the parade early in the morning, instead of staying in my warm house under my bed covers.  It’s a rare thing for me to stay up these days.  So I grabbed my camera and headed downtown.  This is what I saw.

IMG_4302

IMG_4304

IMG_4312

I realized that you can’t always get vantage points like this so I started walking in the middle of the road and taking some shots of some of the stores that line the streets.  Some views are from behind the crowds, and as I get toward 9th street I was able to be in the middle of the street shooting photos.

IMG_4309

This building started out as the Daniel Boone Hotel and Tavern, it was converted several years ago for use as Columbia City Council space and other Columbia City business uses.  This building saw such dignitaries as Harry Truman and others from the 30’s, 40’s and 50’s.  It was probably used as a hotel until the 70’s.   I was lucky enough the get a piece of furniture from this place.  It is a portable bar that they could discreetly roll into patrons rooms if the wanted to have their drinks.

I digress.

IMG_4317

IMG_4318

IMG_4319

IMG_4327

This is one of the old theaters in town.  The Hall Theater.  They saved the building, and I think it is still intact in there, but in the front part of the building has been converted to a Panera’s Bread store and bakery.

IMG_4328

This building, currently called City Centre was once the Montgomery Ward store of the 40’s and 50’s era.  It has been restored, though I don’t think the interior was saved, but it is beautiful inside the main lobby.

IMG_4331

IMG_4352

I ran into my old school mate Carl and his son Max.

IMG_4334

Carl’s  beautiful wife, she is a teacher at Oakland now.

IMG_4333

And Carl’s older son Vince.  So I parked myself with them and helped the kids, scoop up candy.  I have to say there was not a lot of candy throwing going on though.

IMG_4338

And the parade begins.

IMG_4343

IMG_4345

IMG_4349

Missouri Mules!

IMG_4354

IMG_4374

IMG_4358

IMG_4378

and then my battery died.  Oh how I need a back up battery.  I should have grabbed the other camera.

Either way, lots of folks, fun had by all.

I hope you enjoyed the post.   Next up, more Hannibal shots, and the latest necklace I’ve been creating.

Take care and see you soon.

One Response to “It’s all about the bands:”

  1. It looks a wee bit chilly out in your neck of the woods…..and yet everyone still comes out for the bands! What a great city you live in 🙂

Leave a Reply

